History of

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. was founded January 16, 1920, at Howard University in Washington, D.C by five trailblazing women - Arizona Cleaver (Stemons), Pearl Anna Neal, Myrtle Tyler (Faithful), Viola Tyler (Goings),  and

Fannie Pettie (Watts).


With the principles of Scholarship, Service, Sisterhood and Finer Womanhood at the forefront,  Zeta chapters and auxiliaries have given and continue to give untotaled hours of voluntary service to educate the public, assist youth, provide scholarships, support organized charities, and promote legislation for social and civic change.

For a more detailed historical perspective, CLICK HERE.


+ + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + +




finer womanhood

Gamma Delta History


"In Ann Arbor Michigan the need was truly there

For another Zeta Chapter proud, dignified, and rare

So on May 16, 1970 Gamma Delta became the one

To represent Zeta Phi Beta at U of M, of course Second to None!"


Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. Gamma Delta Chapter was chartered on May 16, 1970 by Madie S. Jackson, Addie Hanks, Lynda Smiley, Margo Dawson, Sharon Jones, Joyce Lovette, Eleanor Thomas, and Marilyn Davis - an illustrious line known as the Elegant Eight. 


Since 1970, Zeta women have been on the forefront of campus life at the University of Michigan. 


Women in Gamma Delta Chapter are committed to fostering Zeta Phi Beta's ideals of service, charity, scholarship, civil and cultural endeavors, sisterhood and finer womanhood. They strive to maintain high scholastic averages while being involved in multiple organizations on campus. 


The chapter leads in service, educates the campus with events like Black HAIRstory, has fun with Leap into Love, wins step show competitions, and promotes upstanding character during the annual Finer Womanhood Week. 


Gamma Delta Chapter is proud to have produced judges, educators, lawyers, social workers, doctors, engineers and artists.